Annual IBB Distinguished Lecture

Since 2001, Georgia Tech's Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience (IBB) has had the distinct honor and pleasure of hosting world-renowned speakers for the IBB Annual Distinguished Lecture. This series brings nationally and internationally recognized leaders in bioengineering and bioscience to provide their perspective on the future of biotechnology. 

2024 IBB Distinguished Lecture

Richard Shen, Ph.D.
Richard Shen, Ph.D.
Member Board of Directors
Proteomics Startup 
Corporate Governance Program

October 22, 2024
11:00 a.m.
Petit Biotech Building
315 Ferst Drive NW, Nerem Atrium
Atlanta, GA 30332

With over 25 years of work experience in the fields of nucleic acid analysis, oncology diagnostics, and genomics, I am a board member at two biotech companies: a proteomics startup and Burning Rock Biotech, a leader in precision oncology in China. I am also the founder and managing director of RS Technology Ventures, a strategic advisory and investment company that provides consulting and guidance to leading investment firms and emerging biotech companies. I have a Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and I am a UCLA certified director with a corporate governance program certification. I am passionate about advancing the research and development of innovative and impactful solutions for human health and disease. I bring diverse perspectives and experiences to the board and the management teams, and I value collaboration, integrity, and excellence.

*community luncheon to follow presentation


Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience at Georgia Tech

Past Distinguished Lecturers

2023 - Elaine Fuchs, NAS, NAM
2022-2023 - Paula T. Hammond, NAE, NAS, NAM, NAI
2021 - Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, NAE, NAM, NAI
2020 - Paused for pandemic
2019 - Wendell Lim, HHMI
2018 - Elias Zerhouni, NAM, NAE, Director of NIH
2017 - Michael DeBaun, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
2016 – Kristi Anseth, HHMI, NAS, NAM, NAE
2015 - Cori Bargmann, HHMI, NAS
2014 - Joseph DeSimone, NAE, NAS, NAM
2013 - Thomas Cech, NAM, NAS, Nobel Laureate
2012 - David Mooney, NAE, NAM
2011 - Subra Suresh, NAE, Director of NSF
2010 - Ronald McKay, NIH NINDS
2009 - Phillip Sharp, NAS, NAM, Nobel Laureate
2008 - George Whitesides, NAE, NAS
2007 - Shu Chien, NAE, NAS, NAM
2006 - Steven Chu, Nobel Laureate, Secretary of Energy
2005 - Leroy Hood, NAE, NAS, NAM
2004 - Bruce Alberts, President of NAS
2003 - Sir Richard Sykes, Royal Academy of Engineering
2002 - Arthur Collins, CEO Medtronic
2001 - Kenneth Shine, NAS, President of IOM

"Designer Nanocarriers for Cancer Therapy"
Paula T. Hammond, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
January 24, 2023 - IBB Distinguished Lecturer