Episode 7: Low Resource Ventilator

Link to Audio

 

Episode Summary

Cade Cashen and Jim Perkins of the GTRI/SEAL talks to podcast host Scott McAtee about a practical Low Resource Ventilator they developed in 2020 using common parts found in any hardware or auto parts store.

Talking Points

  • Cade Cashen’s wife, a nurse, was concerned about the initial availability of ventilators and their high cost during the early stages of this pandemic and challenged Cade to see if there was a less expensive alternative.

  • Cade and Jim successfully submitted a GTRI IRAD to investigate a solution. After exhausting those funds, GT funded an additional $25,000 to continue the work.

  • Collaborating with a respiratory therapist to understand the function of a ventilator, they found all of the materials need to build a working model were available at hardware and auto part stores.

  • They eventually built two versions of the ventilator whose final cost were approximately $350, compared to $50,000 for a commercial ventilator.

  • Anyone can see the ventilator by coordinating with Cade Cashen. A video of the functioning ventilator can be seen on the GTRI YouTube channel.
    A full set of instructions and a bill of materials is available on BOX.

Resources

Email

  • General questions regarding the podcast should be sent to: podcast@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Cade Cashen, cade.cashen@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Jim Perkins, jim.perkins@gtri.gatech.edu

Links

Credits

Host, Scott McAtee, email scott.mcatee@gtri.gatech.edu
Guest, Cade Cashen, email cade.cashen@gtri.gatech.edu
Guest, Jim Perkins, email jim.perkins@gtri.gatech.edu
Producer, David Landry, email david.landry@gtri.gatech.edu
Producer, Billbang Sayasean, email billbang.sayasean@gtri.gatech.edu Producer, Anne Costolanski, email anne.costolanski@gtri.gatech.edu Editor, Renee Lartey, email renee.lartey@gtri.gatech.edu

Editor, Diana Tiernan, email diana.tiernan@gtri.gatech.edu Engineer, Branden Camp, email branden.camp@gtri.gatech.edu Host, Matthew Habib, email matthew.habib@gtri.gatech.edu Host, Monica Ngando, email monica.ngando@gtri.gatech.edu