Micro Research Grants Awarded

EAS graduate students sample water during a November trip to Puerto Rico: (From L to R) Sharissa Thompson, Tatiana Gibson, Dru Ann Harris. (Photo Frances Rivera-Hernández.)

The Kendeda Building Advisory Board has awarded 12 micro research grants ($50 – $500) for sustainability-related, small-scale, short-term studies to be conducted by members of the Georgia Tech community. The request for proposals encouraged researchers to explore ways the Georgia Tech campus can continue to innovate, demonstrate, prove, and promote the adoption of best and next practices in regenerative design and operations. Researchers were also encouraged to use the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals as a framework for research design. All members of the Georgia Tech community were encouraged to apply. The program especially sought proposals from students and staff who had little or no prior research experience. Awardees will present their work at the 2024 Micro Research Grants Symposium, to be held in April 2024.

The program has four objectives:

  1. To expand scientific thinking and the understanding of the research process among those not directly involved in scientific research.
  2. To bolster the use of the campus as a living laboratory.
  3. To give voice to people and communities outside of research that have culturally novel perspectives on problems and their possible solutions, and to create new pathways for partnering with them.
  4. To seed novel ideas and nurture nascent investigators.

The awardees are:

  • Nicole Allen and Elaina Render
    “An Investigation Into the Cultivability and Regenerative Potential of Various Vegetables and Herbs”
  • Maryam Almaian and Patrick Kastner
    “Augmented Architecture: Integrating Numerical Simulations Into Regenerative Design”
  • Patrick Barry, Jung-Ho Lewe, and Gray Simmons
    “Project: Low-Cost Current Transformer”
  • Nola Charles, Jaila Kimbro, and Hannah Kate Cass
    “GT Be the Bridge”
  • Donghyun Choi, Abhinav Shubham, and Manpreet Hora
    “Data Analytics on Science-Based Target Initiatives (SBTi)”
  • Jake Churchill, Victoria Pozzi, Dimitri Kalinin, Zihang Zhang, and Rich Simmons
    “‘Cleaning’ Solar Energy at GT”
  • Kenneth Grant and Jung-Ho Lewe
    “Adjustable Occupancy Sensor Mounting Solution”
  • Jung-Ho Lewe, Evan Goldstein, and Gray Simmons
    “Low-Cost Building Occupancy Sensor”
  • Marisa L. McMichael and Scott Duncan
    “Occupancy Comfort”
  • Arnav Patidar, Ronak Agarwal, Sohan Malladi, and Shyamanth Kudum
    “BinVision — Recycle Smarter”
  • Hruday Shah, Jung-Ho Lewe, Scott Duncan, and Gray Simmons
    “Monitoring Indoor Ventilation Efficacy Using Inexpensive, Accurate, and Modular Outdoor Air Quality Stations”
  • Malte Weiland, Jeannette Yen, Tamsin Leavy, Alan Booker, Gary McNay, Lakshya Sharma, Julie Chen, and Perrin Brady
    “Horticulture and Permaculture Workshop”
News Contact

Brent Verrill, Research Communications Program Manager, BBISS