Julie Champion and Corey Wilson Elected as AIMBE Fellows

Associate Professors Julie Champion and Corey Wilson of Georgia Tech’s School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering have been elected to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE).

Election to the College of Fellows is an honor reserved for the top 2 percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. According to AIMBE, the most accomplished and distinguished engineering and medical school chairs, research directors, professors, innovators, and successful entrepreneurs comprise the College of Fellows.

Champion and Wilson will be among 174 engineers inducted into the College of Fellows during AIMBE’s 2021 Annual Event on March 26.

Candidates for the AIMBE College of Fellows are nominated by existing members and evaluated by a panel of their peers. Reviewers consider significant research accomplishments and how candidates have engaged in service and given back to the fields of medical and biological engineering for the benefit of society.

Champion was nominated and elected for the creation of materials made from therapeutic proteins that enable their delivery and function in immunomodulatory and cancer applications.

Wilson was nominated and elected for his seminal work in developing the field of biomolecular systems engineering, intelligent microorganisms, and promoting diversity in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics).

According to AIMBE, since 1991, the “College of Fellows has led the way for technological growth and advancement in the fields of medical and biological engineering. AIMBE Fellows have helped revolutionize medicine and related fields to enhance and extend the lives of people all over the world. They have successfully advocated for public policies that have enabled researchers and business-makers to further the interests of engineers, teachers, scientists, clinical practitioners, and ultimately, patients.”

Other Georgia Tech faculty members elected to the AIMBE Fellow Class of 2021 include Professor Lakshmi “Prasad” Dasi of the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering and Professors Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb and Brandon Dixon of the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering.

For more information about the AIMBE Annual Event, please visit www.aimbe.org.

News Contact