Georgia CTSA Lunch & Learn Webinar

OneFlorida+: An Infrastructure for Real World Data and Pragmatic Clinical Trials

Free Registration

Elizabeth A Shenkman, Ph.D.

Department Chair And ProfessorThe University of Florida, College of Medicine

Elizabeth Shenkman, Ph.D. is the Chair of the Department of Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics, the Co-Director of the University of Florida Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI) and the Director for the University of Florida Institute for Child Health Policy. Dr. Shenkman is a health outcomes researcher with a research focus on: 1) determining which combinations of health care delivery, community, and patient factors influence quality and outcomes of care; and 2) developing and testing corresponding evidence-based strategies to reduce disparities in health outcomes among underserved populations. Dr. Shenkman leads the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute-funded OneFlorida+ Clinical Research Network, which is comprised of 17 different health system partners caring for over 17 M Floridians or approximately 60% of the population in the 3rd largest state in the US along with 2 M Georgians and 1.1 M Alabamans. The University of California-Irvine and the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences recently joined OneFlorida+. The patients receiving care in this network include vulnerable populations who are rarely or minimally included in traditional clinical trials (e.g., those of lower socioeconomic status, racial and ethnic minorities, children, and older adults). A hallmark of OneFlorida+ is its centralized Data Trust, which contains linked health care claims, electronic health record, tumor registry, vital statistics, and census data from its health system partners for cohort discovery, study feasibility determination, and to augment primary data collection activities. Dr. Shenkman facilitates investigators’ access to OneFlorida+ clinical settings and the Data Trust for a wide range of interventional trials and observational studies. Dr. Shenkman is also an MPI for the NIH Office of the Director-funded All of Us Precision Medicine cohort initiative in collaboration with the University of Miami, Emory and Morehouse School of Medicine.