Episode 9: Women’s History Month: Notable Women at Georgia Tech

Link to Audio

Talking Points In the spirit of Women’s History Month, Kim and Susan shared about their background, their experiences, what they keep in their “toolbox” for success, and what they’d tell others to succeed.

About Kim Kim Toatley is GTRI’s Chief Financial officer, responsible for overseeing the accounting, budgeting, and reporting of almost $700 million in research funding for GTRI. In addition, she serves as the interim head of GTRI’s Talent Management Division, which handles the human resource and training functions for GTRI’s 2800 employees.  She is on GTRI’s Executive Council and supervises over 120 employees.

About Susan Dr. Susan Margulies is the Chair of the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering. She has received multiple teaching and research awards, is a fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the Biomedical Engineering Society. She is also the Principal Investigator of Biolocity, an Emory and Georgia Tech life science incubator that has funded 42 projects and led to 22 start-ups, 2 industry licenses, and 3 products on the market.

Resources

Links

 

Other Notable Women at GTRI and Georgia Tech

 

Credits

Email

Have feedback or additional questions about the podcast? Reach out to podcast@gtri.gatech.edu

Podcast Team

  • Host, Matthew Habib, matthew.habib@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Host, Monica Ngando, monica.ngando@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Voice Actor, Scott McAtee, scott.mcatee@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Producer, David Landry, david.landry@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Producer, Anne Costolanski, anne.costolanski@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Director/Editor, Renee Lartey, renee.lartey@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Director/Editor, Diana Tiernan, diana.tiernan@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Engineer, Branden Camp, branden.camp@gtri.gatech.edu