Episode 13: Start-Up with a GTRI & GT Connection

Link to Audio

 

Episode Summary

This episode features Dr. Lavonda Brown, founder and CEO of EyeGageTM. She is a Georgia Tech (GT) graduate (PHD-Electrical Engineering, MBA), and was formerly a researcher in the GTRI Aerospace, Transportation and Advanced Systems (ATAS) Laboratory.

Talking Points

  • This episode explores the path from being a GT student to a successful entrepreneur of an Atlanta based startup. GT is the largest producer of seedling start-up companies in the United States.

  • In this episode, listeners will hear:

    • -  The general steps it takes to formulate the idea behind a startup, the classes one can take at

      GT to facilitate this process, the way to leverage time invested on campus as a student and as a

      GTRI researcher, and the lessons learned from Dr. Brown in this journey.

    • -  Dr. Brown details what EyeGageTM is about, and its value to the marketplace, and provides

      insight into the thought processes of creating a start-up.

 

Resources Links

Have feedback or additional questions about the podcast? Reach out to podcast@gtri.gatech.edu

 

From the episode:

  • EyeGageTM website: https://www.eyegage.com/

  • CREATE X: https://create-x.gatech.edu/

Credits

Podcast Team

  • Host, Matthew Habib, matthew.habib@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Host, Monica Ngando, monica.ngando@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Host, Scott McAtee, scott.mcatee@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Producer, Anne Costolanski, anne.costolanski@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Producer, David Landry, david.landry@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Producer, Charles Harris, charles.harris@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Producer, Bryan Bledsoe, bryan.bledsoe@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Editor, Diana Tiernan, diana.tiernan@gtri.gatech.edu

  • Engineer, Branden Camp, branden.camp@gtri.gatech.edu