Episode 10: Severe Storms Research Center

Link to Audio

Talking Points

  • The SSRC:
    • Was established in 1999 after a deadly tornado hit Gainesville,Georgia
    • Performs research to better understand severe weather in north Georgia.
    • Performs a variety of outreach to K-12 schools
  • In this episode, you will:
    •  Learn about the instruments used and the research being done at the SSRC
    •  Learn about lightning, how it relates to tornadoes, and about different types of storms
    •  Find out where to safest places to go are if you see lightning (hint: not under a tree!)
    •  Hear John and Jessica’s personal stories about their interest in severe storms research
  • The 1996 movie Twister affected the field of meteorology

Resources

 

Webpages

Video Links

Credits

Have feedback or additional questions about the podcast? Reach out to podcast@gtri.gatech.edu

Podcast Team

  • Host, Matthew Habib, matthew.habib@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Host, Monica Ngando, monica.ngando@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Host, Scott McAtee, scott.mcatee@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Producer, David Landry, david.landry@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Producer, Anne Costolanski, anne.costolanski@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Editor/Director, Renee Lartey, renee.lartey@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Editor/Director, Diana Tiernan, diana.tiernan@gtri.gatech.edu
  • Engineer, Branden Camp, branden.camp@gtri.gatech.edu