Alliance to Save Energy Honors Brook Byers Professor Marilyn Brown

<p>Marilyn Brown, Regents' Professor in the School of Public Policy and director of the Climate and Energy Policy Laboratory.</p>

Marilyn Brown, Regents' Professor in the School of Public Policy and director of the Climate and Energy Policy Laboratory.

The Alliance to Save Energy (ASE) has named Georgia Tech School of Public Policy Professor Marilyn Brown as a recipient of the 2019 Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service. The ASE presents this award to individuals for outstanding public service in energy efficiency. Recipients promote innovative solutions that lower consumers’ energy bills while helping energy companies to reduce capital requirements and increase system utilization.  Professor Brown is no exception in this regard. She has published ground-breaking research on the integration of energy efficiency and demand response resources. She directed Oak Ridge National Lab’s efficiency and renewables program and was a two-term presidential appointee to Tennessee Valley Authority’s Board of Directors, where she promoted the concept of energy efficiency as a virtual power plant.

An awards gala ( will be held in Washington, D.C. on September 19, 2019, with more than 400 energy efficiency executives, advocates, and government officials. “We’re honoring the leaders who spurred decades of energy efficiency gains, together with those making aggressive energy-saving advances today,” said the ASE’s President Jason Hartke. “Without these awardees’ leadership, we’d be using and paying for more energy unnecessarily every day.”

The other four Percy Award recipients are:  Ralph Cavanagh and Kit Kennedy, of the Climate & Clean Energy Program at the Natural Resources Defense Council; Clark Gellings, from Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI); and Stephen Wiel, former Nevada utility commissioner, founder and chair of the NARUC Conservation Committee, and Head of the Energy Analysis Department at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.

Founded in 1977 by Sens. Charles H. Percy (R-Ill.) and Hubert Humphrey (D-Minn.), the Alliance to Save Energy was launched following the oil embargo of the 1970’s – a pivotal time in our nation’s history that exposed fundamental weaknesses in our nation’s economic security and challenged us to develop innovate energy solutions. The ASE is a nonprofit, bipartisan alliance of business, government, environmental and consumer leaders with a mission to promote energy productivity worldwide – including through energy efficiency – to achieve a stronger economy, a cleaner environment and greater energy security, affordability and reliability.

News Contact

Brent Verrill, Communications Manager, BBISS