7 Georgia Tech Faculty Members Receive Regents Recognition

<p>Marilyn Brown, Suresh Sitaraman, Jeffrey Skolnick, Prasad Tetali, Vigor Yang, Lisa Yaszek, and Ellen Zegura</p>

Marilyn Brown, Suresh Sitaraman, Jeffrey Skolnick, Prasad Tetali, Vigor Yang, Lisa Yaszek, and Ellen Zegura

The University System of Georgia (USG) Board of Regents (BOR) appointed seven Georgia Tech faculty members Regents Professors, the highest academic recognition bestowed by the USG.

The seven Regents Professors are:

Marilyn Brown, Brook Byers Professor in Sustainable Manufacturing in the School of Public Policy

Suresh Sitaraman, Morris M. Bryan Jr. Professor in Mechanical Engineering in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering

Jeffrey Skolnick, Mary and Maisie Gibson Chair in Computational Systems Biology and GRA Eminent Scholar in the School of Biological Sciences

Prasad Tetali, professor in the School of Mathematics and the School of Computer Science

Vigor Yang, professor in the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering

Lisa Yaszek, professor in the School of Literature, Media, and Communication

Ellen Zegura, Stephen Fleming Chair in the School of Computer Science

“Many congratulations to these faculty members as they receive this well-deserved distinction from the Board of Regents,” said Rafael L. Bras, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs and the K. Harrison Brown Family Chair. “We were proud to nominate them for consideration, and celebrate and honor their continued commitment to teaching, research, and scholarship in service to Georgia Tech and our students.”

Each year, the college deans may nominate two academic faculty members for the Regents Professor title and one research faculty member for the Regents Researcher title. The Georgia Tech Research Institute may nominate two research faculty members for Regents Researcher. The titles are awarded upon approval of the USG chancellor and its Committee on Academic Affairs only with unanimous recommendation of the university’s president, the executive vice president for Research, the chief academic officer, the appropriate academic dean, and three other faculty members.

The BOR approved the nominations during a May 12 meeting (via video). The BOR also approved a change to the Institute’s mission, requested by President Àngel Cabrera and effective May 12, 2020.

The updated mission statement reads: The Georgia Institute of Technology is a public research university established by the state of Georgia in Atlanta in 1885 and committed to developing leaders who advance technology and improve the human condition.

News Contact

Victor Rogers

Institute Communications